DAVO 2016
Internationaler Kongress für gegenwartsbezogene Forschung zum Vorderen Orient

23. INTERNATIONALER JAHRESKONGRESS DER DEUTSCHEN ARBEITSGEMEINSCHAFT VORDERER ORIENT

Vom 6. - 8. Oktober an der Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

Der 23. internationale Jahreskongress der DAVO (Deutsche Arbeitsgemeinschaft Vorderer Orient für gegenwartsbezogene Forschung und Dokumentation) findet an der Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen statt. Er wird organisiert von Prof. Dr. Oliver Schlumberger (Institut für Politikwissenschaft - IfP) und Prof. Dr. Johann Büssow (Abteilung für Orient- und Islamwissenschaft - AOI), mit Unterstützung durch Fr. Stephanie Wagner (IfP).

Alle kongressbezogene Korrespondenz richten Sie bitte an Fr. Amke Dietert, die Generalsekretärin des Kongresses.

 

Keynote von Prof. Peter John Sluglett

Call for Proposals


Die Organisatoren des DAVO Kongresses sind stolz Prof. Peter Sluglett als Keynote Sprecher für den 23. Internationalen DAVO Kongress 2016 gewonnen zu haben.
Prof. Peter Sluglett ist international bekannt für seine Expertise zum modernen Nahen Osten, insbesondere (jedoch nicht beschränkt auf) die Bereiche Sozio-Ökonomie und Urban Social-Development in der Region des heutigen Iraks, Syriens und Libanons.
Prof. Peter Sluglett erwarb einen B.A. an der Cambridge University (1966) und einen Dr. Phil. In Oxford (1972). Er lehrte an der University of Durham (1974 – 1993) und wurde 1994 Professor für Geschichte des Nahen Ostens an der University of Utah, Salt Lake City, wo der Fokus seiner Forschung primär auf dem Niedergang politischer Macht der Christen in Libanon seit dem Ṭāʾif Vertrag lag.
2011 wurde Peter Sluglett President der Middle East Studies Association of North America. Er ist außerdem Gastdozent am Middle East Institute der National University of Singapore.

Prof. Sluglett hat eine Vielzahl an Werken von unschätzbarem akademischen Gehalt zum Nahen Osten veröffentlicht. Seine Arbeit als Forscher der jüngeren Geschichte des Nahen Ostens macht ihn zu einem herausragenden Mitglied der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft.
Wir freuen uns sehr auf Prof. Slugletts Keynote “The Relentless Misery of Authoritarianism: Some Thoughts on the Arab World since 2011” beim 23. Internationalen DAVO Kongress 2016.

Programm


DAVO Programm Online

Vorläufiges Programm

Das Programm für den 23. Internationalen DAVO Kongress ist Online. Sie können bereits einen Blick darauf werfen, welche spannenden Vorträge und Diskussionen Sie auf dem Kongress erwarten. Um sich mit dem Programm vertraut zu machen und es herunter zu laden besuchen Sie bitte unsere Programm Seite

Programm
 

DAVO 2016

Internationaler Kongress
und
Arabisches Filmfestival
6.-8. Oktober 2016

Die Universität Tübingen ist stolz, Gastgeber des diesjährigen DAVO Jahreskongresses zu sein.

Der Kongress findet in Kooperation mit dem Arabischen Filmfestival Tübingen statt. Konferenzteilnehmer genießen freien Eintritt zum Eröffnungsfilm des diesjährigen Festivals sowie zum sogenannten Souq al-Film am Samstag, den 8. Oktober. Souq al-Film ist ein besonderer Bestandteil des Festivalprogramms, bei dem von 12:00 - 22:00 Uhr verschiedene Filme parallel gezeigt werden. Bereichert wird diese Veranstaltung durch Panels und Diskussionen mit Filmschaffenden. Als DAVO Kongressteilnehmer genießen Sie somit die Möglichkeit akademische und kulturelle Inspiration nur wenige Schritte voneinander entfernt zu gewinnen.

Die Organisatoren und Gastgeber der DAVO 2016 und des Arabischen Filmfestivals freuen sich darauf, Sie im Oktober begrüßen zu dürfen.

LAtest news

DAVO 2016
International DAVO Congress of Contemporary Research on the Middle East

23rd International Congress of the German Middle East Studies Association

From 6 - 8 October 2016 at Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

The 23rd annual congress of DAVO (German Middle East Studies Association for Contemporary Research and Documentation) takes place at Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen. It is organized by Prof. Dr. Oliver Schlumberger (Institute of Political Science - IfP) and Prof. Dr. Johann Büssow (Department for Oriental and Islamic Studies - AOI) with the support of Ms. Stephanie Wagner (IfP).

Ms. Amke Dietert, the General Secretary of this congress, should be addressed for all conference related correspondence.

 

 

Keynote by Prof. Peter John Sluglett

 
Keyote by Prof Sluglett

The organizers of the DAVO Congress 2016 are exceedingly proud to have Prof. Peter Sluglett as this year’s Keynote speaker for the 23rd International Congress of DAVO.
 
Peter Sluglett is internationally renowned for his expertise on the history of the modern Middle East, especially in (but not limited to) the fields of socio-economics and urban social development in the region of today’s Iraq, Syria and Lebanon and has published widely on these topics.
Prof. Peter Sluglett holds a B.A. from Cambridge University (1966) and obtained a Dr. Phil. from Oxford (1972). He taught at the University of Durham (1974 – 1993) and became Professor of Middle Eastern History at the University of Utah, Salt Lake City in 1994, where his research was primarily focused on the recession of political power of the Christians in Lebanon since the Ṭā'if Agreement. In 2011 Peter Sluglett became President of the Middle East Studies Association of North America (MESA). He also holds a position as visiting Professor at the Middle East Institute of the National University of Singapore.
 
Prof. Sluglett has published extensively and with invaluable insight on the Middle East. His work as a scholar of modern Middle East History makes him an outstanding member of the scientific community.
We are looking very much forward to his keynote at the International DAVO Congress 2016 “The Relentless Misery of Authoritarianism: Some Thoughts on the Arab World since 2011”

Program


Program Online

Preliminary Program

The program for the 23rd International DAVO Congress is online. You can already have a look at the exciting lectures and discussions that are awaiting you at the congress. Familiarize yourself with and download the program on our Program page.

Program
 

DAVO 2016

International Congress
and
Arab Film Festival
6-8 October 2016

The University of Tübingen is proud to host this year's DAVO-Conference.

The conference will take place in cooperation with the Tübingen Arab Film Festival. Conference participants will enjoy free entry to the opening movie of this year's film festival. Furthermore, participants will also have free access to the so-called Souq al-Film on Saturday 8 October. The Souq al-Film is a special feature within the festival in which several movies are shown in parallel from 12:00 - 22:00 h, complemented by panels and discussions with artists and directors. Thus, as a participant, you have the opportunity to gain not only academic food for thoughts, but also cultural inspiration, within a few steps only.
The organizers and hosts of DAVO 2016 and the Arab Film Festival are looking forward to welcoming you in Tübingen in October.

LAtest news